Track-Several Knights Qualify for Section Track and Field Meet

Written by Kraig Hunter on . Posted in WCA Sports News


Several members of the West Central Area Track and Field teams have qualified for the Section 6A meet by placing in the top five in their individual events at the Sub-Section 21 meet on Thursday.

Jacob Bright (10:26.48) and Ryley Nelson (10:35.22) led the Knights, qualifying first and second in the 3200 meter run.  Robert Sewell was second (20-00.50) in the long jump and the 4 x 200 relay team (1:36.33) of Jake DreschelTyler OnstadKaden Spindler and Sewell also qualified second.

Logan Paulson qualified fourth (38-11.00) in the shot put, and in the high jump, Tyler Onstad was fourth (5-06.00) and Jack Nelson fifth (5-04.00).  Kyle Schill was fifth (5:04.55) in the 1600 meter run and Jake Dreschel qualified fifth (11.78) in the 100 meter dash.

Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta won the sub-section team title with 139.5 points and Minnewaska Area was second with 122 points.  The Knights came in third with a total of 62 points.  They were followed by Benson-KMS (56), Wheaton/Herman-Norcross (47), Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa (44.5), Ortonville (42), C-G-B (31) and Hancock (14).

Ella Van Kempen (12:25.11) and Teagan Nelson (12:37.68) qualified second and third, respectively, in the 3200 meter run and Demara Bumgardner was second (4-08.00) in the high jump.  Brynn Fernholz finished third (5:49.78) in the 1600 meter run and Morgan Woodle qualified in two events, placing third (32-04.50) in the triple jump and fifth (15-01.75) in the long jump.

Fourth place went to Marissa Braaten (28.43) in the 200 meter dash and Amanda Drechsel (17.95) in the 100 hurdles.  Kaitlyn Hanson was fifth (13.50) in the 100 meter dash and Taylah Schroeder was fifth in both the discus (89-05) and the shot put (29.09.00).

The girls team title was won by Minnewaska Area with 171 points.  Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta was second with 158.5, followed by Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa (64), West Central Area (59), Benson/KMS (44), Ortonville (38) and Wheaton/Herman-Norcross (22.5).

Qualifiers will compete in the Section 6A meet on Thursday, June 1 in Fergus Falls.


Contact Us

West Central Area Schools

District # 2342

301 County Road #2 - Barrett, MN 56311

District Office Phone - 320-528-7300 --  High School Office Phone - 320-528-7400  --  Fax - 320-528-2609


WCA North Elementary: Phone - 218-685-7500 - Fax - 218-685-4149
411 First St SE -- Elbow Lake, MN 56531

WCA South Elementary: Phone - 320-965-7600  - Fax - 320-965-2264
31 N Central Ave -- Kensington, MN 56343

WCA Bus Garage -- Al Larson -- 320-528-2670